The Perfect Maxi Skirt: Mermaid

Style Outfit wearing forever 21 crop top mermaid maxi skirt blazer

I don’t have many days I get to dress up for work, but this was one of them so I jumped at the chance to wear my favorite maxi skirt. I styled it with the blazer I got last year for graduation and have since struggled to fit it into my wardrobe. The blazer is a bit too bright for me but I originally chose it for its details, like the ruched sleeves and awesome outer pockets.  When I thought of this monochrome skirt and crop top pairing, I knew the blazer would be a great pop of color, and would make the outfit more work appropriate.

This beautiful maxi skirt is from Tailor and Stylist and I adore how comfy it is to wear. The mermaid silhouette is absolutely amazing, and it single-handedly sparked my love for maxi skirts. As a short girl, I was worried about getting a maxi skirt that would be so difficult to hem. Even worn at my high natural waist, the skirt is a bit long on me, so I’ve tucked the band under once in these photos. The skirt has a sturdy thick elastic top which works perfectly for this trick. It stays put all day and is unnoticeable. Style Outfit wearing forever 21 crop top mermaid maxi skirt blazerAztec crop top and striped maxi skirtMermaid maxi skirt and target wedge heels

While I think these shoes look so adorable, just in the time it took to snap these photos I acquired a rather painful cut from the shoes. I’m still waiting for the scab to finally heal, and these wedges are now in my give away pile.

OUTFIT TIP: Playing around with proportions of your clothing can create a lot of interest in an outfit. I’m currently in love with pairing my crop tops with my high-waisted bottoms, but I also throw a longer layer over top to add another dimension to the outfit. In this outfit I chose a cropped sleeve on the blazer to balance out length of the maxi skirt. If I wear this outfit again, I think I would choose a longer boyfriend cardigan with rolled up sleeves to create this same effect. pink blazer over aztec print topCross back aztec print crop top and grey skirt

[Top: F21] [Skirt: Tailor and Stylist] [Blazer: Wet Seal] [Wedges: Target] [A Necklace: Thrifted]

See how else I styled this crop top!

Linking up with IFB Project #123: Blazer of Glory

What’s your favorite skirt like? Do you have uncomfortable shoes you tolerate because of their looks?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. This skirt has been on my wishlist forever! It’s gorgeous. I love tailor & stylist! Love how you styled it with that tribal crop top – so cute!
    Jessi
    http://haircutandgeneralattitude.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • I agree, I’m so impressed with Tailor & Stylist; this is the comfiest most confidant skirt I own, it’s awesome. I love reading your blog so thank’s so much for checking me out!
      xx Amy

      Reply
  2. I love the color of this blazer, absolutely gorgeous!

    xx
    Kelly
    Sparkles and Shoes

    Reply
  3. Love the pink. 🙂

    Reply

Tell Me Something New!

