Local Business and Pattern Mixing

Blue Ross Peplum tank, blue plaid button up, green skinny jeans

Some of you may have seen a sneak peak of this outfit on Auniesauce last week. I wore this for a busy day of running errands and a visit to a local business opening, which just happened to be near the neighborhood I live in. The beautiful little shop, rosieMADE, is filled with American made products and really focuses on women-friendly companies. I got to speak briefly with the founder, Alicia, and found her quite inspiring. I’ve rarely thought much about the power structure between women and men, but in a few short minutes she had me thinking about what my future corporate life may look like, and it wasn’t very women-friendly. Beyond the ideals, they have an adorable collection of household items and knick-nacks. I picked up a container of loose leaf French Breakfast Tea and I cannot wait till it gets a little closer to tea weather. The past few years I have started to collect black teas and the idea of rose petals AND vanilla in one tea sounds pretty sweet to me!

style outift, blue plaid and stripe peplum with green skinniesblue stripe peplum tank, american eagle green skinniesamerican eagle green skinny jeans, steve madden nude flats

[Peplum Tank: Ross] [Overshirt: Thrifted] [Jeans: American Eagle] [Shoes: Steve Madden via Ross]

How do you support local businesses? What’s your favorite thing at the Rosie MADE online shop?

Make your Wednesday spectacular!

xx Amy

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. loved this outfit as much in person as here! will you tell me how you set up your photos… how do you focus on yourself without having someone stand in for you? that’s the hardest thing for me! 🙂

    Reply
    • It requires a lot of trial and error, and manual focusing. I frame the photo, and then angle the camera down and focus on a rock or piece of grass that’s about where I want to be standing. Once I get the focus set I tilt the camera back up to how I want the shot to be framed. From then on I run back and forth taking photos and tweaking the focus till its just right. But I still mess up a lot. I tried to take a detail shot of the necklace for this post but when I went to review the photos, none of them were in focus! So I fail sometimes.

      Reply
  1. Blue Stripe Fever | Sugared Rush

Tell Me Something New!

