Transitions & 2014

DSC_0232

I cannot remember the last time I made a New Years Resolution and I am sure that any that might have been ended in a quick failure. Much of my wandering thoughts lately has revolved around transitions and rebalancing. It only seems fitting that now would be the time to try some resolutions out. Once I managed to think of a couple, more just kept pouring out of my brain. I know that wanting to flip 100% into my dream self overnight is only a recipe for disaster. I stumbled across an idea from A Beautiful Mess that struck a chord with me. Four Simple Goals. I notoriously overreach with my planning, lists, and goals so I love the idea of focusing on just the meaningful and achievable side of goal making. I don’t want to reach too far, so I’m just looking towards March. So here they are, my simple goals for first part of 2014.

  • Spend More Time With Friends
    • Lately, I’ve been feeling that way too much of my socialness is online. Even when I’m with my friends, so much of our time is spent ignoring each other looking at our phones. And is see this everywhere! I want to get back to real life, and put more of a focus on deeply connecting with the friends I have and looking around me enough to make new ones.
  • Fill Frames
    • I went on this big spree a few months ago where I collected a ton of frames from thrift stores to start displaying my photos everywhere. No surprise that they are still empty. So this one is pretty self explanatory.
  • Take More Photos
    • I have always loved photography and I really want to make it a more integral part of my daily life. So this means more outfit photos as well as some creative projects as well.
  • Read 1 Book Every Month
    • Self explanatory. It’s been way to long since I’ve been a regular reader.

So I leave you with these from the first set of photos I took in the New Year. My boyfriend is a pretty easy subject when he’s out keeping me company for outfit photos and his kitty is pretty super cute [and absolutely loves him, as shown.] The first one’s my editing choice, the second was M’s preference. It is a little more fun.

DSC_0175-2

I still need to work on my focusing, but at f1.8 it’s pretty hard for my poor eyesight to catch the little details. Anyone have any suggestions or tricks?

xx Amy

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Golden Flashback | Sugared Rush

Tell Me Something New!

